Thanks to all of the generous donations of our recent campaign, Blue Marble Dreams was able to send me, Laura, back to Butare for three months to provide support to our shop in Butare and do preliminary research for a shop in Kigali. A year and a half ago I was able to volunteer for Blue Marble Dreams as an intern in Butare. I am now working for Blue Marble Ice Cream in Brooklyn, and I am excited to be able to come back to work with the amazing women of Inzozi Nziza!

 

After a few mishaps with losing my luggage, I have made it safely to Butare and will be here for three months. It is so nice to be with all of the women again who are always warm and welcoming. When I arrived the women were all happy to see I had brought some necessary supplies for the shop such as cleaning supplies for the ice cream machine, and also some treats like sprinkles and chocolate chips! Although these things are available in Kigali, Rwanda’s capital, for the shop to buy, they are much more expensive then they would be in the states, so a trip from the US from usually means some sweet treats for the shop in Butare!

 

I hope you keep checking our blog throughout the next three months to hear all about what’s going on at Inzozi Nziza and Rwanda! If you have any questions feel free to leave a comment, and I will get back to you!

Leave a Reply

